Federal Disaster Request approved for 16 Mississippi counties

posted in: Mississippi News | 0
Courtesy of MEMA

16 Mississippi counties will receive relief following the devastation caused by  Tropical Storm Olga in October. 

On Friday, Governor Bryant announced that President Donald Trump declared 16 counties eligible for Public Assistance under Federal Disaster Number 4470. This disaster declaration is in response to the Severe Storms, Straight-line Winds, and Flooding that occurred due to Tropical Storm Olga on October 26.

Related: Delegation in D.C. requests federal assistance following October storms

The counties eligible for assistance through the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) are Alcorn, Covington, Itawamba, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Leake, Lee, Marion, Neshoba, Newton, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Scott, Simpson, Smith, and Tippah. 

Public Assistance is a supplemental cost reimbursement grant program that assists in the restoration of community infrastructure. The Public Assistance categories are as follows:

  • Category A: Debris Removal.
  • Category B: Emergency Protective Measures.
  • Category C: Roads and Bridges.
  • Category D: Water Control Facilities.
  • Category E: Buildings and Equipment.
  • Category F: Utilities.
  • Category G: Parks, Recreational Facilities, and Other Items.

This declaration is the fourth federal disaster in Mississippi this year.

Mississippi is also approved statewide for the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program. This program is for measures/actions taken that reduce or eliminate long term risk to people and property from natural hazards.

The post Federal Disaster Request approved for 16 Mississippi counties appeared first on News Mississippi.